Andrew

Staff picks from Andrew.

Staff Pick Logo
Castle of Water Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250098221
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Thomas Dunne Books - April 4th, 2017

I’m a big fan of his earlier nonfiction books, so when I learned he had a novel I was really excited. When Sophie and Barry find themselves stranded on a desert island, they must learn to live and work together, and maybe rediscover the joy of living along the way. It’s smart, funny, and has a lot of heart.


Staff Pick Logo
Embattled Rebel: Jefferson Davis and the Confederate Civil War Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143127758
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - September 15th, 2015

Embattled Rebel by James McPherson isn’t your standard biography of Jefferson Davis because it doesn’t look at every facet of his life, instead McPherson looks at how he performed his duties as President of the Confederacy. By drawing extensively on Davis’ personal correspondence and contemporary sources, McPherson creates a readable portrayal of a man fiercely dedicated to his ideals.


Staff Pick Logo
The Supernatural Enhancements Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780804168731
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Anchor Books - July 21st, 2015

When A. inherits a large estate after the sudden and mysterious suicide of his cousin, he is thrust into the middle of a mystery with deadly consequences. Ghosts, cultists, and dreams of unspeakable acts are only the beginning for A. as he tries to uncover the secrets of Acton House. A mystery in the tradition of Lovecraft, King, Henry James, and Edith Wharton (who lends this book its title), this book will leave you wanting more because once Cantero has you hooked you won't want to put it down.


Staff Pick Logo
The Good Luck of Right Now Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780062285614
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Paperbacks - February 10th, 2015

Matthew Quick, the bestselling author of The Silver Linings Playbook, offers a new novel about dealing with loss, change, and realizing that good can always be found in a bad situation. When Bartholomew’s mother dies and he finds himself alone in the world, only the help of an ex-priest, a girl librarian, her cat-obsessed brother, and Richard Gere can help him find his way again. 


Staff Pick Logo
Bream Gives Me Hiccups Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780802125323
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Grove Press - August 9th, 2016

Existential food critics. Awkward romances. These and more await in the debut novel by actor Jesse Eisenberg, who manages to create a brilliant snapshot of life in the digital age in this collection of short stories. Witty and amusingly gloomy, Eisenberg introduces the reader to an eclectic variety of characters and situations you won’t soon forget, especially the chapter on postmodern dating.


Staff Pick Logo
Roosevelt's Beast Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250053114
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - January 20th, 2015

After losing the election of 1912, Teddy Roosevelt set off on a speaking tour of South America, and while there was asked to participate in an expedition to chart a previously uncharted river. Accompanying him was his son Kermit, who was asked to keep an eye on his father. Partway through their journey, the pair become separated from the rest of their expedition and stumble into a village plagued by a mysterious and sinister beast. Tasked by the villagers to kill the beast, Kermit and Teddy find themselves fighting a creature that might just be the death of them. A thrilling novel that will satisfy lovers of history and adventure alike.


Staff Pick Logo
The Nerdy Nummies Cookbook: Sweet Treats for the Geek in All of Us Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781501104015
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - November 3rd, 2015

Don't let the title fool you, this cookbook is fun for all ages. Pansino starts with the building blocks of baking, using easy to follow recipes that will be used throughout to create deliciously nerdy desserts. Rather than grouping her creations by pies, cakes, and cookies, she groups them by interest, allowing readers to quickly find their obsession of choice. It can be complex at times, but overall this is a solid, fun cookbook.


Staff Pick Logo
Abraham Lincoln in the Kitchen: A Culinary View of Lincoln's Life and Times Cover Image
$21.95
ISBN: 9781588344557
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Smithsonian Books (DC) - February 4th, 2014

I'm a sucker for anything about the Civil War, but I have never seen a book quite like this. Part biography, part cookbook, Eighmey looks at Lincoln and his relationship with food--the way he used it in his speeches and the way it influenced his life. For every recipe included there is a story to go with it, and the best part is that each recipe has been updated to include readily available ingredients and modern measurements. Celebrate the 150th anniversary of the Civil War in style with this delicious exploration of our 16th President.


Staff Pick Logo
American Gods: Author's Perferred Text Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062080233
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow & Company - February 5th, 2013

It's hard to summarize this book into a few lines, but the basic premise is this: as immigrants come to America, they bring their gods with them, and as they assimilate their gods become mostly normal people, having to work for a living while dreaming about their past lives. Enter into this world a man named Wednesday, who is preparing for a war between the old gods and the new ones that are growing more powerful in modern America--the gods of finance, technology, and Hollywood. Prepare to be blown away by this epic novel by the master of fantasy--seriously this novel deserves to be read, savored, and read again.


Staff Pick Logo
Starship Troopers Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780441783588
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ace Books - March 10th, 1997

Most novels about fighting aliens focus on one thing: fighting aliens. If you're lucky, they might talk about war on a philosophical level, but that's a rarity. This novel is an exception though--while it's full of space marines fighting aliens, it takes an introspective look at the nature of war and the politics surrounding it. It's a cliche to say the book is better than the movie, but in this case it's true.


Staff Pick Logo
The Greatest Knight: The Remarkable Life of William Marshal, the Power Behind Five English Thrones Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062262066
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ecco Press - November 10th, 2015

Have you ever wondered if Lancelot was real? Or if chivalry was really that important? Well, this book will answer all of those questions as it follows the life of William Marshal, a knight who rose from nothing to be the paragon of chivalric virtue. Asbridge vividly brings to life the turbulent middle ages in a way that makes Game of Thrones look tame by comparison. This is a seriouslygood history book that reads like an action movie.


Staff Pick Logo
The Good Luck of Right Now Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780062285539
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperTorch - February 11th, 2014

Matthew Quick, the bestselling author of The Silver Linings Playbook, offers a new novel about dealing with loss, change, and realizing that good can always be found in a bad situation. When Bartholomew’s mother dies and he finds himself alone in the world, only the help of an ex-priest, a girl librarian, her cat-obsessed brother, and Richard Gere can help him find his way again. 


Staff Pick Logo
Tears We Cannot Stop: A Sermon to White America Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781250135995
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Press - January 17th, 2017

This slim volume is not a quick or an easy read, although Dyson does his best to make it appear so by breaking it into easy to digest chapters. He aims to make people aware of the racism in everyday life: the minor insults, harassment, and institutional racism, all of the things that make people feel like they don’t belong in their own country. He does this by providing examples from his own life and the lives of his children, and your heart breaks with each one. This is an important book for the times we live in


Staff Pick Logo
The Devil's Mercedes: The Bizarre and Disturbing Adventures of Hitler's Limousine in America Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250069726
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Thomas Dunne Books - March 7th, 2017

Of all the trophies to leave Nazi Germany in the wake of its fall, you would not expect to find a limo in the mix. However, a small number of the elite Mercedes Grosser limos made it through the war and to America, all of them claiming to be the personal car of Hitler. Klara meticulously researched each car to reveal a stunning portrait of the relationship between Hitler, Mercedes, and the collectors who have pursued these cars.


Staff Pick Logo
Jerusalem Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781631491344
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Liveright Publishing Corporation - September 13th, 2016

I know it's scary looking, but in this immersive novel, no page is wasted. In a love letter to his hometown, Moore chronicles the history of Northampton, England through 1200+ years of ghosts, war, politicians, marytrs, authors, and reformers, but beyond that, he tries to explain why it's a magnet for history. Two characters provide the framework for this tale as they figure out their connection to the city, and to each other. This is possibly the best book I have ever read as it was something for everybody.