How to Be Black (Hardcover)

How to Be Black Cover Image
$24.99
Special Order -- Email or Call for Availability

Description


The Onion's Baratunde Thurston shares his 30-plus years of expertise in being black, with helpful essays like "How to Be the Black Friend," "How to Speak for All Black People," "How To Celebrate Black History Month," and more, in this satirical guide to race issues--written for black people and those who love them. Audacious, cunning, and razor-sharp, How to Be Black exposes the mass-media's insidiously racist, monochromatic portrayal of black culture's richness and variety. Fans of Stuff White People Like, This Week in Blackness, and Ending Racism in About an Hour will be captivated, uplifted, incensed, and inspired by this hilarious and powerful attack on America's blacklisting of black culture: Baratunde Thurston's How to Be Black.

Praise For…


“A hilarious blend of razor-sharp satire and memoir...Using his own story and humor, Thurston demonstrates that the best way to ‘be’ anything is to simply be yourself.”
-Publishers Weekly

“Terrific...How to Be Black is an assault on nostalgia--a satirical, biographic attack on the idea that ‘blackness’ or any label should be derived from historical description.”
-Fast Company

“A hilarious look at the complexities of contemporary racial politics and personal identity.”
-Booklist

Struggling to figure out how to be black in the 21st century? Baratunde Thurston has the perfect guide for you...Fans of Stuff White People Like, This Week in Blackness and other blogs that take satirical shots at racial stereotypes are sure to love How to Be Black.
-The Root

“One of the smartest and funniest books I’ve ever read.”
-Christian Lander (via Twitter)

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062003218
ISBN-10: 0062003216
Publisher: HarperTorch
Publication Date: January 31st, 2012
Pages: 254
Language: English