Noah's Wife (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Noah's Wife Cover Image
$27.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


In a parish plagued by perpetual rain, Starck uses small town oddballs to create a novel that touches on self doubt, faith, and hometown pride. Noah’s Wife is charming and engaging from the first page to the last.

— Al M.

In a parish plagued by perpetual rain, Starck uses small town oddballs to create a novel that touches on self doubt, faith, and hometown pride. Noah’s Wife is charming and engaging from the first page to the last.

— From Al

Description


In the tradition of Daniel Wallace's Big Fish and Eowyn Ivey's The Snow Child, a gorgeously written and fable-like novelrecasting Noah's Ark as a story of relationships, courage, resilience, and hope.
Variously romantic, symbolic, philosophical, feminist, and fanciful, this is an atmospheric tale that meanders to a sweetly rousing conclusion. . . .Forget the ark, forget the patriarch. It's the women who tend to triumph in this modern take on an Old Testament parable.
Kirkus Reviews
In loving Noah, his wife never imagined she d end up in this gray and wet little town where it's been raining for as long as anyone can remember. Newly appointed as pastor, Noah is determined to bring the eccentric townspeople back to the church, but the members of his congregation only want to keep their homes afloat. As the water swallows up the houses, the renowned zoo, and the single highway out of town, Noah, his wife, and their new neighbors must confront not only the savage forces of nature but also the fragile ties that bind them to one another.
Poignant and whimsical, playful and wise, Noah's Wifechallenges our expectations of love, commitment, and redemption.By reimagining this classic story in a new and modern light, the novel asks: how do we know when to stay and when it's time to go?

About the Author


Lindsay Starck was born in Wisconsin and raised in the Milwaukee Public Library. She studied literature and writing at Yale, Notre Dame, and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She currently writes and teaches at Augsburg College in Minneapolis, Minnesota, where she lives with her husband and their golden retriever. Noah s Wife is her first novel. "
Product Details
ISBN: 9780399159237
ISBN-10: 0399159231
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons
Publication Date: January 26th, 2016
Pages: 400
Language: English