The Southern Belly: The Ultimate Food Lovers Companion to the South (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Southern Belly: The Ultimate Food Lovers Companion to the South Cover Image
$24.95
Special Order -- Email or Call for Availability

Staff Reviews


This latest edition of Southern Belly by Oxford foodie and James Beard Award winner John T. Edge is an essential read for anyone planning to visit the South or interested in Southern food in general. Organized by State, each section is a wealth of information on culture, history and most importantly, food!

— Adam

Description


In the tradition of Ed Levine's New York Eats and Patricia Wells' Food Lovers Guide to Paris, The Southern Belly is a tour de force, the first authoritative and comprehensive guide to the food and drink of the American South. It is a place-specific book that fuses good advice with entries that provide historical and cultural perspective to the appreciation of Southern standards like barbeque, catfish, sweet tea, and hot sauce. In The Southern Belly, Edge does much more than simply steer you to good eats, he tells the story behind the food, people, and places that have become Southern institutions; much more than just your ordinary guidebook grocery list of every smoke shack from Hattiesburg to Hahira. More than 200 entries run the gamut from rib shacks, fish camps, hot pepper sauce manufacturers, and micro-breweries to former speakeasies, places made famous in movies, famous birthplaces (such as the home fried dill pickle), and temples of haute cuisine including food landmarks in Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and southern Virginia.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781892514653
Publisher: Hill Street Press
Publication Date: July 1st, 2000
Pages: 270