Cody

Picks from our buyer, Cody.

The Mothers Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780399184512
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - October 11th, 2016

The Mothers is a dazzling debut novel. Brit Bennett has crafted a vital exploration of family, love, longing, and the consequences of choices made in the throws of restless youth. This is a book that will stay with you for sometime and this is an author I imagine we will be hearing from for a long time to come.


Staff Pick Logo
The Scribe Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780393353273
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - August 30th, 2016

An assured second effort from Guinn, former Ole Miss professor. Set in Reconstruction Atlanta, a group of prominent businessmen known as “the Ring” has staked much on the city's Cotton Expo, but a rash of brutal murders jeopardizes their plan and the populace. Canby is a disgraced lawman brought back to the city as the lead investigator but quickly realizes how much is stacked against him. The cast of characters, taut plotting, and depiction of the period make for a great read.


Staff Pick Logo
Black Wings Has My Angel Cover Image
By Elliott Chaze, Barry Gifford (Introduction by)
$12.95
ISBN: 9781590179161
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: New York Review of Books - January 19th, 2016

This lost classic of noir is maybe the best work of crime fiction you’ve never heard of. Long hard to find, it ranks right up there with the best of Chandler, Hammett, and other masters. Hopefully, now Chaze (who spent most of his career as a journalist in Hattiesburg, MS) will finally get the recognition that he deserves.


Staff Pick Logo
Dragonfish Cover Image
By Vu Tran
$15.95
ISBN: 9780393352870
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - August 2nd, 2016

This is one hell of a debut novel. Smart, brutal, and intense with the pacing of a classic noir, yet it also manages to reveal human truths and insights into the heart with unexpected flashes of tenderness. In the end, none of the characters come out winners, but the reader sure does.


Staff Pick Logo
The Ways of the Dead: A Sully Carter Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143127345
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - May 12th, 2015

Native Mississippian and veteran Washington Post journalist, Neely Tucker, shines in this debut novel. When the teenage daughter of a powerful Washington, D.C. judge is found dead, three local black kids are quickly charged with the crime. Reporter Sully Carter sees a larger story revolving around three missing women and a dead prostitute, all from the same neighborhood. Based on the Princeton Place murders that took place in the late 1990s, Tucker delivers a taut thriller with the grit of George Pelecanos and the aplomb of Pete Hamill.


Staff Pick Logo
At Night We Walk in Circles Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781594632839
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - September 2nd, 2014

Brilliant. Just brilliant. With this second novel, Alarcon demonstrates why he was named one of The New Yorker's 20 Writers Under 40 to Watch. Fans of Roberto Bolano and Junot Diaz take note.


Lawrence in Arabia: War, Deceit, Imperial Folly and the Making of the Modern Middle East Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9780307476418
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor Books - June 3rd, 2014

Anderson deftly juxtaposes the story of Lawrence and three other young diplomatic adventurers. The result is a fascinating, highly entertaining read which explains how the modern Middle East was created by imperial ambitions and why it is such a source of conflict today.


Staff Pick Logo
City of Thieves Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780452295292
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - April 1st, 2009

One of the best books of last year now available in paperback. It's a great sweeping story by turns funny and heartbreaking that will keep you up at night because you're so into the character's plight.


Staff Pick Logo
Any Human Heart Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781400031009
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - January 6th, 2004

Simply put, this book is extraordinary. Told in the form of journal entries, it is the story of Logan Mountstuart (1906 - 1991). Boyd artfully weaves the major events of the 20th Century with the life events of his fictional character. Fans of Julian Barnes, Henry James, and Downton Abbey will be right at home.


Staff Pick Logo
No Mercy: A Journey to the Heart of the Congo Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780679737322
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage Books USA - June 30th, 1998

Bill Bryson calls O'Hanlon, "Probably the finest writer of travel books in the English language and certainly the most daring." No Mercy is his finest book, full of humor and hardships set against the back drop of the African congo. Highly recommended.


About Grace Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143036166
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Penguin Books - September 1st, 2005

A truly remarkable, beautiful, heartbreaking yet somehow ultimately uplifting gem of a novel that you won't forget.


Soccer in Sun and Shadow Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781568584942
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Nation Books - August 6th, 2013

Maybe the greatest book ever written on the game and just rereleased in a revised and updated edition. Named one of the "Top 100 Sports Books of All Time" by Sports Illustrated. Galeano is probably the best Latin American writer you've never heard of. 


Open City Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780812980097
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Trade - January 17th, 2012

One of the most interesting debut novels I've read in the last few years. Think Zadie Smith meets W.G. Sebald. We will be hearing a lot more from Cole—he is a major new talent.


Every Night's a Saturday Night: The Rock 'n' Roll Life of Legendary Sax Man Bobby Keys Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781619021068
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Counterpoint LLC - March 12th, 2013

This is one of the best autobiographies by a rock musician you're likely to read. I'd put it right up there with Dr. John's Under a Hoodoo Moon and Keith Richard's Life. Long time sax player for The Rolling Stones, Keys has lived the rock n' roll life and survived to tell about it. He's played with almost everyone in The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and this is a great read.


Last Days of Summer Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9780061564819
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Paperbacks - June 3rd, 2008

I can't imagine anyone not liking this book. Set in 1940s Brooklyn, it's about 10 year old outcast Joey Margolis who is in search of a hero. Joey lands on Charlie Banks, the star third baseman for the NY Giants. Told through letters, postcards, and newspaper clippings the result is a sweet (but not too sweet) hilarious novel with a big heart that will appeal to all ages. 


The Ghost Riders of Ordebec Cover Image
By Fred Vargas, Sian Reynolds (Translator)
$15.00
ISBN: 9780143123125
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - June 25th, 2013

If you are looking for a new crime writer to read then I encourage you to try Fred Vargas. Her commissaire Adamsberg series is smart, sophisticated, and addictive. Ghost Riders is her most recent and the first in the series is the Chalk-Circle Man.


The Places in Between Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9780156031561
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Mariner Books - May 8th, 2006

This is a stunning book. Stewart's account of his journey on foot across Afghanistan shortly after the fall of the Taliban is right up there with the best travel/adventure lit by the likes of Bruce Chatwin or Paul Theroux.


The Motel Life Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780061171116
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial - April 24th, 2007

I probably look forward to Willy Vlautin's new books more than any other writer working today. The Motel Life was his first novel and a film based on the book has just been released. His movels are about the down and out, full of heartbreak yet in the end hopeful.


Rammer Jammer Yellow Hammer: A Road Trip Into the Heart of Fan Mania Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780609807132
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Three Rivers Press (CA) - May 31st, 2005

Voted te best sports book every by the Chronicle of Education. St. John has written a hilarious and intriguing account of college football and its rabid fans. For one season, he buys an RV and follows the Alabama Crimson Tide. There is a great chapter set in Oxford when they play the Rebs. Check it out.


The Winter of Frankie Machine Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780307277664
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage Books USA - September 4th, 2007

This is a nearly perfect book. When I was laid up sick recently, I picked it up and despite being on heavy cold medicine found that I had read until 2 a.m. in order to finish it. Frankie Machine is a bad mother...


The Savage Detectives Cover Image
By Roberto Bolano, Natasha Wimmer (Translator)
$19.00
ISBN: 9780312427481
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador USA - March 4th, 2008

A New York Times Top 10 pick of the year when it come out in hardcover and easily one of my favorite novels in the last decade. Bolano is a mad genius. Think Borges meets Kerouac and then you begin to get the picture.


Minotaur Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781609451165
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Europa Editions - May 7th, 2013

If you want to discover a great book that none of your friends has read, you'd be hard-pressed to top this unconventional spy story in which four lives intersect in clever and terrible ways. Minotaur casts a spell with its Mediterranean ease and character-driven suspense.


The Unchangeable Spots of Leopards Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143125020
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - February 25th, 2014

An absolutely stellar deubut novel. The Village Voice nailed it when they wrote: "F. Scott Fitzgerald meets Wes Anderson." Funny, smart, and inventive. Jansma is a writer to watch.


Shame and Wonder: Essays Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780812993943
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House - January 5th, 2016

These essays are brilliant, disarming, wandering, and mesmerizing. Searcy is a talented writer with a weird eye for things and a sort of odd voice but he takes you places you don't expect to go even when the subject matter is seemingly mundane. Fans of John Jeremiah Sullivan and Kent Russell take note.