junior

Kate DiCamillo with RAYMIE NIGHTENGALE - @ The Powerhouse

 

About the Author


Kate DiCamillo is the acclaimed author of many books for young readers, including The Tale of Despereaux, winner of the Newbery Medal; Because of Winn-Dixie, a Newbery Honor Book; and The Tiger Rising, a National Book Award finalist. She lives in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Description


Two-time Newbery Medalist Kate DiCamillo returns to her roots with a moving, masterful story of an unforgettable summer friendship. 
Raymie Clarke has come to realize that everything, absolutely everything, depends on her. And she has a plan. If Raymie can win the Little Miss Central Florida Tire competition, then her father, who left town two days ago with a dental hygienist, will see Raymie's picture in the paper and (maybe) come home. To win, not only does Raymie have to do good deeds and learn how to twirl a baton; she also has to contend with the wispy, frequently fainting Louisiana Elefante, who has a show-business background, and the fiery, stubborn Beverly Tapinski, who's determined to sabotage the contest. But as the competition approaches, loneliness, loss, and unanswerable questions draw the three girls into an unlikely friendship and challenge each of them to come to the rescue in unexpected ways.

Event date: 
Sunday, August 21, 2016 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Event address: 
413 S 14th St
Oxford, MS 38655
Raymie Nightingale Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780763681173
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - April 12th, 2016

Event Type Terms: 

Special Storytime with FROGGY GOES TO THE LIBRARY

About the Author


Jonathan London has written more than one hundred picture books for children, many of them about wildlife. He has sold more than 1.5 million books and is known in particular for his Froggy series. He lives with his wife in northern California. www.jonathan-london.net

Frank Remkiewicz illustrated the MathStart Books Rabbit's Pajama Party and Just Enough Carrots. He lives in Sarasota, FL. In His Own Words...

"I was the kind of kid who was always reading or drawing. Since I was drawing well before I started school, I always considered art to have seniority over the likes of long division and medieval history. This attitude got me into difficulties more than once. My favorite subjects were horses, cartoons, wildlife, and contraptions that rolled, floated, tooted, or flew. My heroes of the day were illustrators like Bill Peet, Robert Lawson, and Kurt Weiss. They provided me with a screenful of imagery that I'll never forget.

"Winter in kindergarten found us all painting Santas at our tables. Mine came out so good that I was asked to do it over again on a huge piece of brown paper that covered the chalkboard. Santa would be bigger than me. I was excused from the regular stuff, given larger brushes, more paint-and sure enough, here came Santa. This was only the beginning. Other teachers, seeing the mural-sized figure, 'borrowed' me to do the same for first- and second-grade classrooms. Flattered but somewhat embarrassed, I took heart, since these gigs were getting me out of a lot of tedious activities like nap time, scissors, yarn, and flash cards. 'All I ever needed to know, I learned in kindergarten' may be true. Twenty years later I found myself on Madison Avenue at Norcross Greeting Cards-yes, drawing Santa Claus.

"I've always been drawn to the field of humor. Since I'm writing and illustrating my own stories now, I try to make them funny in an outrageous or off-the-wall way. During classroom presentations, I again find myself by the chalkboard in front of the kids. Now we are seeking ways to write and draw those ideas that squeeze their way through the everyday chores of our minds. It's a thrill to watch my own book being read by a group of children, and I like it when they smile. But I love it when they laugh."

Event date: 
Saturday, March 19, 2016 - 10:00am
Event address: 
111 Courthouse Sq
Oxford, MS 38655
Froggy Goes to the Library Cover Image
By Jonathan London, Frank Remkiewicz (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780670015733
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - March 15th, 2016

Event Type Terms: 

Holly Goldberg Sloan with COUNTING BY 7'S in Partnership with The Oxford Conference for the Book

Description


In the tradition of "Out of My Mind," "Wonder, "and "Mockingbird, " this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family. 
Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn t kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now. 
Suddenly Willow's world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is "not" a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.


* Willow's story is one of renewal, and her journey of rebuilding the ties that unite people as a family will stay in readers' hearts long after the last page. School Library Journalstarred review 
* A graceful, meaningful tale featuring a cast of charming, well-rounded characters who learn sweet but never cloying lessons about resourcefulness, community, and true resilience in the face of loss. Bookliststarred review 
* What sets this novel apart from the average orphan-finds-a-home book is its lack of sentimentality, its truly multicultural cast (Willow describes herself as a person of color; Mai and Quang-ha are of mixed Vietnamese, African American, and Mexican ancestry), and its tone. . . . Poignant. The Horn Bookstarred review 
"In achingly beautiful prose, Holly Goldberg Sloan has written a delightful tale of transformation that's a celebration of life in all its wondrous, hilarious and confounding glory."Counting by 7s"is a triumph." Maria Semple, author of"Where d You Go, Bernadette.

About the Author


Holly Goldberg Sloan, the acclaimed author of I'll Be There, has worked as an advertising copywriter and a writer and director of feature films. She lives in Santa Monica, California.

Praise For…


Praise for Counting by 7s:

* “A graceful, meaningful tale featuring a cast of charming, well-rounded characters who learn sweet—but never cloying—lessons about resourcefulness, community, and true resilience in the face of loss.”—Booklist starred review
 
* “What sets this novel apart from the average orphan-finds-a-home book is its lack of sentimentality, its truly multicultural cast (Willow describes herself as a “person of color”; Mai and Quang-ha are of mixed Vietnamese, African American, and Mexican ancestry), and its tone. . . . Poignant.”—The Horn Book starred review
 
* “Willow's story is one of renewal, and her journey of rebuilding the ties that unite people as a family will stay in readers' hearts long after the last page.”— School Library Journal starred review
 
“In a beautifully written story, Sloane weaves a tale of unexpected family and belonging that will change anyone's opinion of what it means to be a part of something.” —Children's Literature

Accolades for Holly Goldberg Sloan:
  Best Books for Young Adults Three starred reviews (Horn Book, SLJ, VOYA) Children's Literature Council of Southern California Award for best YA Fiction Los Angeles Library Best Book For Teens
Milwaukee County Teen Book Finalist
Chicago Public Library Best of the Best
Field Family Teen Author Pick (Free Public Library Philadelphia)
South Dakota Young Adult Reading Program Masterlist
-Horn Book, School Library Journal, VOYA

Event date: 
Friday, March 4, 2016 - 3:00pm
Event address: 
Square Books, Jr.
111 Courthouse Square
Oxford, MS 38655
Counting by 7s Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780142422861
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puffin Books - September 16th, 2014

Event Type Terms: 

Laurie Keller with THE SCRAMBLED STATES OF AMERICA in partnership with The Oxford Conference for the Book

Description


A wacky cross-country adventure starring the fifty states

""Well, it was just your basic, ordinary day in the good old U. S. of A. States all over the country were waking up, having their first cups of coffee, reading the morning paper, and enjoying the beautiful sunrise."

"All the states, that is, except for Kansas.""

At the first annual "states party," Virginia and Idaho hatch a plan to swap spots so each can see another part of the country. Before the party is over, all the states decide to switch places. In the beginning, every state is happy in its new location. But soon things start to go wrong. Will the states ever unscramble themselves and return to their proper places?

Packed with madcap humor and whimsical illustrations, this quirky story-starring all fifty states-is chock-full of introductory facts and silly antics that will make learning geography as much fun as taking a vacation.

About the Author


Laurie Keller is the acclaimed author-illustrator of "Do Unto Otters", "Arnie, the Doughnut", "The Scrambled States of America", and "Open Wide: Tooth School Inside", among numerous others. She grew up in Muskegon, Michigan, and always loved to draw, paint and write stories. She earned a B.F.A. at Kendall College of Art and Design, then worked at Hallmark as a greeting card illustrator for seven-and-a-half years, until one night she got an idea for a children s book. She quit her job, moved to New York City, and soon had published her first book. She loved living in New York, but she has now returned to her home state, where she lives in a little cottage in the woods on the shore of Lake Michigan.

Dr. Short is a division director at the Center for Applied Linguistics (CAL) in Washington, D.C. She has worked as a teacher, trainer, researcher, and curriculum/materials developer. Her work at CAL has concentrated on the integration of language learning with content-area instruction. Through several national projects, she has conducted research and provided professional development and technical assistance to local and state education agencies across the United States. She directed the ESL Standards and Assessment Project for TESOL and co-developed the SIOP model for sheltered instruction.

Dr. Tinajero specializes in staff development and school-university partnership programs and has consulted with school districts in the U.S. to design ESL, bilingual, literacy, and bi-literacy programs. She has served on state and national advisory committees for standards development, including the English as a New Language Advisory Panel of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards and the Texas Reading Academies. She is currently professor of Education and Interim Dean of the College of Education at the University of Texas at El Paso and was President of the National Association for Bilingual Education, 1997-2000.

Praise For…


"Charming."--The New York Times "It's hard to imagine a more engaging (or comical) way to learn the 50 states and their locations than in this auspicious debut from Keller."--Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) "Will elicit laughs from all those who thought geography was boring."--Kirkus Reviews "A wacky and absolutely painless look at geography."--School Library Journal

Event date: 
Friday, March 4, 2016 - 3:00pm
Event address: 
Square Books, Jr.
111 Courthouse Square
Oxford, MS 38655
The Scrambled States of America Cover Image
$7.95
ISBN: 9780805068313
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Square Fish - April 2002

Event Type Terms: 

Pages