Monkey Time (Hardcover)

Monkey Time By Michael Hall, Michael Hall (Illustrator) Cover Image

Monkey Time (Hardcover)

By Michael Hall, Michael Hall (Illustrator)

$17.99


Backordered -- Email or Call for Availability

Can you catch a minute? A monkey chases a minute in the rainforest in this clever, funny, and informational story about the concept of time from Michael Hall, the New York Times–bestselling and acclaimed author of Red: A Crayon’s Story. An excellent choice to share during homeschooling. It's a fun way to learn basic concepts of telling time.

Monkey Time stars a silly monkey and sixty minutes, and it is perfect for fans of Mo Willems’s Waiting Is Not Easy! and anyone learning about how time passes. Look for surprises in the pictures on every page!

Meet monkey. Monkey is very curious about the brightly colored—and very tasty-looking—minutes on the minute tree in his forest. But can he catch one before it disappears?

Playful, educational, and entertaining, this brightly illustrated book reinforces simple counting skills while introducing children to basic concepts about time, how time passes, and how time is measured. With illustrations full of engaging animals and a call-and-response text, and loads of rhythm, repetition, and humor, this is a great choice for family and story-time sharing.

Includes three pages of facts reinforcing the math concepts and describing the rainforest friends introduced in the story.

Michael Hall grew up in Ann Arbor, Michigan, and lives with his family in Minneapolis, Minnesota. He is the creator of numerous acclaimed picture books for children, including Frankencrayon, Red: A Crayon’s Story, My Heart Is Like a Zoo, Perfect Square, and It’s an Orange Aardvark! 



Michael Hall grew up in Ann Arbor, Michigan, and lives with his family in Minneapolis, Minnesota. He is the creator of numerous acclaimed picture books for children, including Frankencrayon, Red: A Crayon’s Story, My Heart Is Like a Zoo, Perfect Square, and It’s an Orange Aardvark! 

Product Details ISBN: 9780062383020
ISBN-10: 0062383027
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: February 26th, 2019
Pages: 48
Language: English

“A simple treatise on time for very young children as well as a counting book. . . .Hall’s trademark painted and cut-paper illustrations in bright green, blue, red, and yellow with brown monkey in the center are striking. . . .This entertaining story will reinforce counting skills while teaching youngsters a bit about time.” — ALA Booklist (starred review)

“Hall playfully juggles the ideas of tracking time and counting in a book that also introduces tropical rainforest animals. . . .a high-level introduction of temporal considerations. . . is the book’s focus, and whimsy and humor—epitomized by the exuberant minutes—take center stage.” — Publishers Weekly

“What are you able to do with a minute? . . .A fun informational picture book introducing time to the very young.” — School Library Journal