Among the Beasts & Briars (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Among the Beasts & Briars Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Oct 28 2:01am
(YOUNG ADULT FICTION)

Staff Reviews


This tale has shape-shifting, ancient curses, and a darkly enchated wood, but most importantly, the world is effortlessly queer and diverse in a way that feels both classic and modern. Cerys and Fox are the kind of witty, squabbling friends-to-lovers pair that I adore, and both grow so beautifully over the course of the novel. More, more, more!

— From Sami's 2019 & Newer Picks

Description


Ashley Poston, acclaimed author of Heart of Iron, returns with a dark, lush fairy tale–inspired fantasy for fans of Sara Raasch and Susan Dennard.

Cerys is safe in the Kingdom of Aloriya. Here there are no droughts, disease, or famine, and peace is everlasting. It has been this way for hundreds of years, since the first king made a bargain with the Lady who ruled the forest that borders the kingdom. But as Aloriya prospered, the woods grew dark, cursed, and forbidden.

Cerys knows this all too well: When she was young, she barely escaped as the woods killed her friends and her mother. Now Cerys carries a small bit of the curse—the magic—in her blood, a reminder of the day she lost everything.

As a new queen is crowned, however, things long hidden in the woods descend on the kingdom itself. Cerys is forced on the run, her only companions a small and irritating fox from the royal garden and the magic in her veins. It’s up to her to find the legendary Lady of the Wilds and beg for a way to save her home.

But the road is darker and more dangerous than she knows, and as secrets from the past are uncovered amid the teeth and roots of the forest, it’s going to take everything she has just to survive.

About the Author


Ashley Poston loves dread pirates, moving castles, and starry night skies. When not lost in a book, she’s lost in real life, searching for her next great adventure. She is the author of Heart of Iron and its sequel, Soul of Stars, as well as Geekerella and The Princess and the Fangirl. She can be found online at www.ashposton.com.

Praise For…


"Among the Beasts and Briars is an utterly enchanting read, brimming with wild magic, whimsy, and heart. I adored every page." 
— Margaret Rogerson, New York Times bestselling author of An Enchantment of Ravens and Sorcery of Thorns

"A deliciously dark coming-of-age fairy tale brimming with magic, monsters, and hope."
Kirkus Reviews


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062847362
ISBN-10: 0062847368
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: October 20th, 2020
Pages: 352
Language: English