Stay Gold (Paperback)

Stay Gold By Tobly McSmith Cover Image

Stay Gold (Paperback)

$10.99


Usually Arrives in Store in 1-5 Days

Debut author Tobly McSmith delivers a coming-of-age teen love story about a transgender boy who’s going stealth at his new Texas high school and a cisgender girl who is drawn to him, even as she’s counting down the days until graduation. Perfect for fans of David Levithan, Becky Albertalli, and Jenny Han.

Pony plans to fly under the radar this year. Tired of getting too much attention at his old school after coming out as transgender, he’s hoping for a fresh start as a Hillcrest High senior. But it’s hard to live your best life with the threat of exposure lurking around every corner.

Georgia is beginning to think there’s more to life than cheerleading. She just wants to keep a low profile until graduation . . . which is why she promised herself that dating is a nonstarter for the foreseeable future.

Then, on the very first day of classes, the new guy and the cheerleader lock eyes…

In this moving, honest debut from Tobly McSmith, one transformative relationship opens the eyes of a whole town—and opens the door for Pony and Georgia to celebrate their truths, even when it feels hard.


Tobly McSmith is the co-creator/writer of seven somewhat successful musical parodies, including Friends! The Musical Parody. Tobly was born in Texas. He now lives in New York City with his two cats, Buster and Bananas McSmith. Tobly is proud to be transgender.

Product Details ISBN: 9780062943187
ISBN-10: 0062943189
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
Publication Date: August 3rd, 2021
Pages: 384
Language: English

“A necessary read that favors compassion and understanding.” — School Library Journal (starred review)

"A rom-com with heart and purpose." — Publishers Weekly

"[A] compelling #OwnVoices story that is populated by sympathetic characters." — Booklist