The End of Everything: A Novel (Paperback)

The End of Everything: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Oct 17 3:33am
(MYSTERY)

Description


From the award-winning author of The Turnout and Dare Me: a "mesmerizing psychological thriller" about a teenage girl who disappears during a 1980s suburban summer (Los Angeles Times).

Thirteen-year old Lizzie Hood and her next door neighbor Evie Verver are inseparable. They are best friends who swap bathing suits and field-hockey sticks, and share everything that's happened to them. Together they live in the shadow of Evie's glamorous older sister Dusty, who provides a window on the exotic, intoxicating possibilities of their own teenage horizons. To Lizzie, the Verver household, presided over by Evie's big-hearted father, is the world's most perfect place.

And then, one afternoon, Evie disappears. The only clue: a maroon sedan Lizzie spotted driving past the two girls earlier in the day. As a rabid, giddy panic spreads through the Midwestern suburban community, everyone looks to Lizzie for answers. Was Evie unhappy, troubled, upset? Had she mentioned being followed? Would she have gotten into the car of a stranger?

Lizzie takes up her own furtive pursuit of the truth, prowling nights through backyards, peering through windows, pushing herself to the dark center of Evie's world. Haunted by dreams of her lost friend and titillated by her own new power at the center of the disappearance, Lizzie uncovers secrets and lies that make her wonder if she knew her best friend at all.

About the Author


Megan Abbott is the award-winning author of nine novels, including You Will Know MeThe FeverDare Me, and The End of Everything. She received her PhD in literature from New York University. Her writing has appeared in the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Los Angeles Times MagazineThe Guardian, and The Believer. Currently, she is a staff writer on HBO's David Simon show, The Deuce. She lives in New York City. 

Praise For…


"Stirring...[a] storytelling feat."—New York Times

"A haunting story...evoke[s] the furtive blossoming of adolescent sexuality...that lies beneath the ice cream shops and sprinklered lawns of '80s suburbia."—Entertainment Weekly

"Fans of Tana French and Kate Atkinson will welcome Abbott's haunting psychological thriller ... Abbott expertly captures the nuances of lost innocence and childhood friendships, without ever losing an undercurrent of menace."—Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)

"A mesmerizing psychological thriller and a freshly imagined coming-of-age story, will draw comparisons to The Lovely Bones."—Los Angeles Times

"THE END OF EVERYTHING will haunt you as only a modern-day Lolita can."—Huffington Post

"The writing is anything but typical, as Abbott's inventive use of language to build imagery reads more like poetry than prose."—Boston Globe

"A sensitive, unconventional tale about the infinitely complex mystery of sexual awakening that lingers in the mind long after the book is finished."—The Guardian (UK)

"THE END OF EVERYTHING is Abbott's most refined and rapturous offering yet."—Los Angeles Review of Books

"An accomplished psychological thriller... a highly skilful novel, taut, addictive, full of stuff to keep you hungrily reading."—Sunday Times of London


Product Details
ISBN: 9780316097826
ISBN-10: 0316097829
Publisher: Back Bay Books
Publication Date: July 3rd, 2012
Pages: 272
Language: English