Greta (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Greta By J. S. Lemon Cover Image

Greta (Hardcover)

$17.99


Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

For fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt and Kimberly Brubaker Bradley, with a nod to Kafka, J. S. Lemon’s middle grade debut is an utterly transformative, surprisingly funny, and fiercely original story about friendship, healing, and a beauty that transcends all else.

Greta Goodwin’s life is changing. On top of moving to a new neighborhood far away from her best friend, Lotti, she’s also starting middle school. Greta isn’t totally ready for boys, bras, and the chaotic cafeteria. She still feels like a little kid compared to those female classmates who have suddenly matured over the summer. Girls who are now the talk of the school—unlike Greta, who would rather fly under the radar, especially after a bad haircut that makes her look less “effortlessly beautiful” and more “triangle with legs.”

But at her first-ever middle-school party, a boy does pay attention to Greta. Initially it feels good. And then it feels awful. In the aftermath, Greta can’t make sense of what’s happened, let alone talk about it, even to Lotti. Impossibly, Greta’s body starts to change in a vastly different way from everyone else’s. What follows leads Greta to believe the world might finally see her as she truly is: ethereal, powerful, and free.

Sensitively told and stunningly written, Greta will transform readers just as Greta herself is transformed.

J. S. Lemon grew up outside of Philadelphia, and chances are, so did you. She spent most of her childhood worrying about hair removal and trying to make people laugh. Even though middle school was quite a while ago, it still sits right beneath her skin. Lemon was the first girl, on both sides of her family, to graduate college, and she did so while wearing an “I’m with stupid” T-shirt under her gown. She has been an animal psychic, a mime coach, and a spokesperson for the Crocs Evening Wear Collection—all without leaving her home. Most days you can find her gossiping with her dog and writing until her thumbs ache. Her hobbies include doodling, listening to smooth ‘70s music, and dodging invitations to go hiking. She does a pretty good Cher impression.
Product Details ISBN: 9780374392178
ISBN-10: 037439217X
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
Publication Date: September 10th, 2024
Pages: 208
Language: English