Decent People (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Decent People By De'Shawn Charles Winslow Cover Image

Decent People (Hardcover)

$28.00


Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

From Center for Fiction First Novel Prize winning author De'Shawn Charles Winslow, a sweeping and unforgettable novel of a Black community reeling from a triple homicide, and the secrets the killings reveal.

In the still-segregated town of West Mills, North Carolina, in 1976, Marian, Marva, and Lazarus Harmon-three enigmatic siblings-are found shot to death in their home. The people of West Mills- on both sides of the canal that serves as the town's color line-are in a frenzy of finger-pointing, gossip, and wonder. The crime is the first reported murder in the area in decades, but the white authorities don't seem to have any interest in solving the case.

Fortunately, one person is determined to do more than talk. Miss Josephine Wright has just moved back to West Mills from New York City to retire and marry a childhood sweetheart, Olympus “Lymp” Seymore. When she discovers that the murder victims are Lymp's half-siblings, and that Lymp is one of West Mills's leading suspects, she sets out to prove his innocence. But as Jo investigates those who might know the most about the Harmons' deaths, she starts to discover more secrets than she'd ever imagined, and a host of cover-ups-ranging from medical misuse to illicit affairs-that could upend the reputations of many.

For readers of American Spy and Bluebird, Bluebird, Decent People is a powerful new novel about shame, race, money, and the reckoning required to heal a fractured community.

De'Shawn Charles Winslow is the author of In West Mills, a Center for Fiction First Novel Prize winner, an American Book Award recipient, and a Willie Morris Award for Southern Fiction winner, and a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book, Lambda Literary, and Publishing Triangle awards. He was born and raised in Elizabeth City, North Carolina, and graduated from the Iowa Writers' Workshop.
Product Details ISBN: 9781635575323
ISBN-10: 163557532X
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Publication Date: January 17th, 2023
Pages: 272
Language: English

“At times amazingly good... always unflinching in its contemplation of life's great intensities... carries the inexorable force of Greek tragedy.” —Claire Messud, Harper's

“Anyone who adored Charmaine Wilkerson's Black Cake and Dolen Perkins-Valdez's Take My Hand, take note. De'Shawn Charles Winslow invites readers on a satisfying ride that, through his keen observations of human nature, leads to deeper considerations of the glacial progress of racial equality.” —BookPage, starred review

“Winslow chronicles the aftermath of a triple homicide that rocks a segregated Southern community in his dynamic latest . . . There are a trove of surprises along the way to the well-earned resolution, and Winslow entrances readers with strong characters, impeccable prose, and brisk pacing. As a character-driven mystery, it delivers the goods.” —Publishers Weekly

“This tale comes across as considerably more than a regional whodunit because of its author's humane and sensitive perceptions toward his characters, even those who may not deserve such equanimity.” —Kirkus Reviews

“What is remarkable about Marguerite Duras's The Easy Life is that not only does it feature a heroine who is consistently out of touch with-and even actively in denial of-what she wants, but Duras has also managed to translate that heroine's struggle into a compelling narrative, all while maintaining the depth of the feminine interiority contained in her prose … we are very lucky that we get to read [Duras' words] in English for the first time.” —Liber Review

“One of De'Shawn Charles Winslow's greatest gifts is his world-building mastery. West Mills and the people who reside in it feel so real, recognizable, tangible, vibrant, and vivid. His rendering of this southern landscape is extraordinary. And this skill serves Decent People very well. It's been a very long time since I've read a good, old-fashioned whodunnit, and this is a most outstanding one, accomplishing several feats at once: it's a compelling mystery with brilliant misdirections and surprising revelations, all while having depth of purpose and critical, crucial social commentary. Decent People is quite the achievement.” —Robert Jones Jr., author of the National Book Award Finalist and New York Times bestseller, THE PROPHETS

“De'Shawn Charles Winslow's powerful second novel Decent People is a gripping mystery but also something more. A thoughtful examination of small-town life becomes a story about America itself, looking directly at the legacies of racism and segregation, homophobia and secrecy, poverty and power.” —Rumaan Alam, author of Leave the World Behind

“The town is full of secrets, and the novel rollicks through revelations of true parentage and hidden lives.” —The New Yorker on IN WEST MILLS

“From the first page, Winslow establishes an uncanny authority and profound tone that belie the book's debut status. The precision and charm of his language lure us in and soothe us . . . Much of the story is told through dialogue, rich and truthful conversations among characters reminiscent of those in August Wilson's plays, expressing so much more than what is on the surface.” —The New York Times Book Review on IN WEST MILLS

“De'Shawn Charles Winslow is in possession of a voice, one that's not only pitch-perfect but also arresting and important and new. It's a voice that's by turns funny and heartbreaking and beautiful.” —Rebecca Makkai, author of The Great Believers on In West Mills

“De'Shawn Charles Winslow has a rare and blessed gift for writing characters who live and breathe and struggle and love one another and attain, in their imperfect, human way, a miraculous grace.” —Garth Greenwell, author of Cleanness on IN WEST MILLS

“A bighearted novel about family, migration, and the unbearable difficulties of love. Here's a cast of characters you won't soon forget.” —Ayana Mathis, author of The Twelve Tribes of Hattie on IN WEST MILLS

“Wonderfully accomplished.” —O, The Oprah Magazine on IN WEST MILLS

“Winslow's impressive debut novel introduces readers to both a flawed, fascinating character in fiction and a wonderful new voice in literature.” —Real Simple, Best Books of 2019 on IN WEST MILLS

“Winslow's quietly glorious novel is dedicated “To the reader,” and it engages on a level that's appropriately intimate.” —Boston Globe on IN WEST MILLS