Children's and YA Events

Karina Yan Glaser signs The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street

Join Square Books as author Karina Yan Glaser signs her book The Vanderbeekers of 141st StreetWednesday, March 27th from 4:30PM to 6PM at Square Books Jr.

There will be no presentation.

Can't make it? Purchase a signed copy here. Personalization available.

The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street By Karina Yan Glaser Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781328499219
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Clarion Books - September 4th, 2018

The first book in the bestselling series that the New York Times Book Review hails as “delightful and heartwarming.”


Sarah-SoonLing Blackburn in conversation with Kristi Livingston for Exclusion and the Chinese American Story

Until now, you've only heard one side of the story, but Chinese American history extends far beyond the railroads. Here's the true story of America, from the Chinese American perspective.

A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection

Exclusion and the Chinese American Story (Race to the Truth) By Sarah-SoonLing Blackburn Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780593567630
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - March 26th, 2024

Until now, you've only heard one side of the story, but Chinese American history extends far beyond the railroads. Here's the true story of America, from the Chinese American perspective.

A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection


STORYTIME TAKEOVER: Ballet Memphis reads Jan Brett's The Nutcracker

Join Square Books and Ballet Memphis for a very special storytime! Ballet Memphis will read Jan Brett's The Nutcracker on Saturday, December 9th at 10AM.

About the Book

Jan Brett's The Nutcracker By Jan Brett, Jan Brett (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jan Brett, Jan Brett (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593109823
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - November 16th, 2021

Jan Brett's striking illustrations and the Christmas classic The Nutcracker are a match made in picture book heaven.

When Marie and her brother Fritz receive a special Christmas nutcracker from their uncle, Marie immediately feels something magical. "He looks like a real boy," she mused. "A real boy with a secret, who came from far away."


Kalynn Bayron reads and signs The Vanquishers: Secret of the Reaping

The Vanquishers are back and ready to defend their town against the undead in this spooky middle grade from New York Times bestselling author Kalynn Bayron.

 

Join us as we launch Cinderella is Dead author Kalynn Bayron's sequel to her middle grade series The Vanquishers: Secret of the ReapingMonday, October 9th · 5 PM at Square Books, Jr.

The Vanquishers: Secret of the Reaping By Kalynn Bayron Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781547611577
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - October 10th, 2023

The Vanquishers are back and ready to defend their town against the undead in this spooky middle grade from New York Times bestselling author Kalynn Bayron.


The Vanquishers By Kalynn Bayron Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781547612710
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - October 10th, 2023

In New York Times bestselling author Kalynn Bayron's middle grade series, vampires were history . . . until now.

"A sharp vampire tale full of bite, heart, and humor." --Rena Barron, author of the Maya and the Rising Dark series


THACKER MOUNTAIN RADIO HOUR: Steve Azar and Sarah Frances Hardy

Thursday, November 9th – Thacker Mountain Radio Hour at the Powerhouse!

 Showtime: 6 pm

Learn more about the show's lineup here

Can't make it? Reserve a signed copy of One Mississippi here. Personalization available.

One Mississippi By Steve Azar, Sarah Frances Hardy (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Steve Azar, Sarah Frances Hardy (Illustrator)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781949455427
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nautilus - August 19th, 2023

Based on the new song “One Mississippi” by award-winning performer Steve Azar, and illustrated by award-winning children’s book author Sarah Frances Hardy, One Mississippi will be the children’s gift book for 2023.


Storytime Takeover with Jacki Kellum and The Donkey's Song

Children will experience the first Christmas through new eyes in this heart-tugging story of the Nativity, told by the gentle but determined donkey that carried Jesus's parents to Bethlehem. It's a perfect Christmas gift book for snuggling up and sharing.

The Donkey's Song: A Christmas Nativity Story By Jacki Kellum, Sydney Hanson (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jacki Kellum, Sydney Hanson (Illustrator)
$18.99
Email or call for price and availability.
ISBN: 9780593375051
Published: Doubleday Books for Young Readers - October 18th, 2022

Children will experience the first Christmas through new eyes in this heart-tugging story of the Nativity, told by the gentle but determined donkey that carried Jesus's parents to Bethlehem. It's a perfect Christmas gift book for snuggling up and sharing.

Sleepy but strong, I clip-clopped along
to rest in a stable with straw.


Children's Book Festival Meet & Greet: Rajani LaRocca

In partnership with the Lafayette County Literacy Council  and the Junior Auxiliary of Oxford, Square Books Jr. is delighted to host Rajani LaRocca, the 2022 Children's Book Festival's featured author for a special Meet & Greet signing. Can't make it?

Where Three Oceans Meet: A Picture Book By Rajani LaRocca, Archana Sreenivasan (Illustrator) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781419741296
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Abrams Books for Young Readers - August 24th, 2021

A child, mother, and grandmother travel all the way to the end of the earth in author Rajani LaRoccaand illustrator Archana Sreenivasan’s Where Three Oceans Meet, a picture book that celebrates multigenerational love—perfect for fans of Drawn Together and Alma.
 
“I want to see what’s at the end of the earth!”


Midsummer's Mayhem By Rajani LaRocca Cover Image
$8.99
Email or call for price and availability.
ISBN: 9781499810646
Published: Yellow Jacket - May 4th, 2021

A Kirkus Best Book of 2019!
An Indies Introduce Selection for 2019!
An Indie Next Pick for Summer 2019!

"A delectable treat for food and literary connoisseurs alike." Kirkus Reviews, STARRED REVIEW

"What a wonderful, intriguing, and magical book. And wow, did it ever get my tastebuds going!


Seven Golden Rings: A Tale of Music and Math By Rajani Larocca, Archana Sreenivasan (Illustrator) Cover Image
$20.95
ISBN: 9781885008978
Availability: Usually Arrives in Store in 1-5 Days
Published: Lee & Low Books - October 27th, 2020

In this clever, convivial picture book, an Indian boy untangles a mathematical conundrum to win a place at the Rajah's court.


I'll Go and Come Back By Rajani LaRocca, Sara Palacios (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Rajani LaRocca, Sara Palacios (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781536207170
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - March 29th, 2022

A tender, beautifully illustrated story about a girl in America and her grandmother in India, whose love stretches between languages and cultures—and across the world.


Red, White, and Whole: A Newbery Honor Award Winner By Rajani LaRocca Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063047426
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - February 2nd, 2021

Newbery Honor Book! A heartbreakingly hopeful novel in verse about an Indian American girl whose life is turned upside down when her mother is diagnosed with leukemia.


My Little Golden Book About Kamala Harris By Rajani LaRocca, Ashley Evans (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Rajani LaRocca, Ashley Evans (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9780593430224
Availability: Usually Arrives in Store in 1-5 Days
Published: Golden Books - August 31st, 2021

Help your little one dream big with a Little Golden Book biography all about the first female Vice President Kamala Harris! The perfect introduction to nonfiction for young readers!


Much Ado About Baseball By Rajani LaRocca Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781499811018
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Yellow Jacket - June 15th, 2021

"Much Ado About Baseball is the best children's book I've read in the past 10 years!" -Brad Thor, New York Times bestselling author of the Scot Harvath series

"A moving tale of baseball, magic, and former rivals who come together to solve a problem." -Kirkus Reviews, STARRED REVIEW

In this companion novel to


Storytime Takeover: Erin Austen Abbott presents Family Field Trip

OUTDOOR STORYTIME! SEE YOU AT THE R.S.V.P. Plaza (next to Square Books Jr.)

Need ideas for Spring Break adventures? Join us for a special sensory-themed storytime presented by Erin Austen Abbott, author of Family Field Trip: Explore Art, Food, Music, and Nature with Kids

Can't make it? Reserve a signed copy here. Personalization available. 

With more than 40 family-friendly cultural activities and adventures, Family Field Trip makes it easy to incorporate moments of learning and exploration into life with kids.


Pages