Event

General Event

Max Hipp in conversation with Lee Durkee for What Doesn't Kill You Opens Your Heart

Join us in welcoming teacher, writer, and musician Max Hipp for his debut collection of stories What Doesn't Kill You Opens Your HeartTuesday, April 9th at 5:30PM at Off Square Books. Author and friend Lee Durkee will be in conversation with Hipp for this event.

What Doesn't Kill You Opens Your Heart: Stories By Max Hipp Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9798218377953
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
(This book cannot be returned.)
Published: Cool Dog Sound - April 9th, 2024

The characters in Max Hipp's debut story collection howl with loneliness. They've reached the ends of their coping mechanisms and bank accounts and are making terrible life choices and trying to recover in the wake of them.


Anne Byrn for Baking in the American South

Witness the rise of Southern baking from the humble, make-do recipes of our ancestors to its place as one of the world's richest culinary traditions through this essential cookbook from bestselling author Anne Byrn. With 200 recipes and more than 150 photos from 14 states, Baking in the American South has the biscuits, cornbread, cakes, and rolls that will help you bake like a Southerner, even if you aren't.

Pre-Order Now Badge
Baking in the American South: 200 Recipes and Their Untold Stories (a Definitive Guide to Southern Baking) By Anne Byrn, Rinne Allen (Photographer) Cover Image
By Anne Byrn, Rinne Allen (Photographer)
$44.99
ISBN: 9780785291336
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Harper Celebrate - September 3rd, 2024

Experience mouthwatering Southern baking--from humble home kitchens to innovative new Southern chefs. One of the world's richest culinary traditions comes to life through this essential cookbook from bestselling author Anne Byrn.


Karina Yan Glaser signs The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street

Join Square Books as author Karina Yan Glaser signs her book The Vanderbeekers of 141st StreetWednesday, March 27th from 4:30PM to 6PM at Square Books Jr.

There will be no presentation.

Can't make it? Purchase a signed copy here. Personalization available.

The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street By Karina Yan Glaser Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781328499219
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Clarion Books - September 4th, 2018

The first book in the bestselling series that the New York Times Book Review hails as “delightful and heartwarming.”


Meet the Author: Andrew McCarthy

Meet author, actor and television director Andrew McCarthy at Square Books, Friday, March 22nd @ 2 PM. Welcome Andrew when he stops by Square Books for an afternoon signing only. 

Brat: An '80s Story By Andrew McCarthy Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781538754290
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - May 10th, 2022

Fans of Patti Smith's Just Kids and Rob Lowe's StoriesI Only Tell My Friends will love this beautifully written, entertaining, and emotionally honest memoir by an actor, director, and author who found his start as an 80s Brat pack member, now in paperback.
 Most people know Andrew McCarthy from his movie roles in Pretty in Pink, St.


Walking with Sam: A Father, a Son, and Five Hundred Miles Across Spain By Andrew McCarthy Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781538709207
Availability: Usually Arrives in Store in 1-5 Days
Published: Grand Central Publishing - May 9th, 2023

An intimate, funny, and poignant New York Times bestseling travel memoir following award-winning author and actor Andrew McCarthy as he walks the Camino de Santiago with his son Sam. 
 

When Andrew McCarthy's eldest son began to take his first steps into adulthood, McCarthy found himself wishing time would slow down.


Just Fly Away By Andrew McCarthy Cover Image
$10.95
ISBN: 9781616208004
Availability: Usually Arrives in Store in 1-5 Days
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - March 27th, 2018

The debut novel from Andrew McCarthyactor, director, and bestselling author of Brat: An 80s Storyis a powerful story about family secrets, first love, the limits of forgiveness, and finding your way in the world.

When fifteen-year-old Lucy Willows discovers that her father has a secret child from a brief affair, she begins to questi


Book Post presents: Chris Benfey and Ben Taylor on My Antonia

My Antonia: Introduction by Jane Smiley (Vintage Classics) By Willa Cather Cover Image
$11.00
ISBN: 9780525562863
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - March 6th, 2018

15% off (discount applied automatically in cart).


Chasing Bright Medusas: A Life of Willa Cather By Benjamin Taylor Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780593298824
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking - November 14th, 2023

Chasing Bright Medusas should appeal to anyone — novice or expert — ready to explore Cather’s life and work in the company of a critic so alert to the shimmering subtlety of her style and the hard years of effort that went into crystallizing it.” —The Washington Post


Henry Wise in conversation with Ace Atkins for Holy City

"Holy City is an amazing piece of work. A Southern novel that examines the pathos and ethos of small-town life and the weight of both grief and hatred. Love it."--S.A. Cosby

No one innocent. No one free. Nothing sacred.

 

Holy City By Henry Wise Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780802162915
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atlantic Monthly Press - June 4th, 2024

"Holy City is an amazing piece of work. A Southern novel that examines the pathos and ethos of small-town life and the weight of both grief and hatred. Love it."--S.A. Cosby

No one innocent. No one free. Nothing sacred.


Lauren Fortenberry for One Prayer Away

Writer, speaker, and influencer Lauren Fortenberry maps a 90-day healing journey with God in new book One Prayer Away.

 

Please join us in welcoming author Lauren Fortenberry for her new devotional One Prayer Away: Healing Words to Speak Over Your Day (90 Devotions for Women), Tuesday, April 23rd at 5:30 PM at Off Square Books.

One Prayer Away: Healing Words to Speak Over Your Day (90 Devotions for Women) By Lauren Fortenberry Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780310464334
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Zondervan - April 23rd, 2024

Snowden Wright in conversation with Matt Bondurant for The Queen City Detective Agency

Following an unforgettable cast of characters and a jaded female P.I. enmeshed in a criminal conspiracy in 1980s Mississippi, The Queen City Detective Agency is a riveting, razor-sharp Southern noir that unravels the greed, corruption, and racism at the heart of the American Dream.

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Queen City Detective Agency: A Novel By Snowden Wright Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780062963581
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: William Morrow - August 13th, 2024

Following an unforgettable cast of characters and a jaded female P.I. enmeshed in a criminal conspiracy in 1980s Mississippi, The Queen City Detective Agency is a riveting, razor-sharp Southern noir that unravels the greed, corruption, and racism at the heart of the American Dream.


Pages