THACKER MOUNTAIN RADIO HOUR: De'Shawn Charles Winslow presents Decent People

Thursday, February 2nd | 6 PM: THACKER MOUNTAIN RADIO HOUR: De'Shawn Charles Winslow presents Decent People
Thursday, February 2, 2023 - 6:00pm

Thursday, February 2nd – Join us for Thacker Mountain Radio Hour at the Powerhouse in Oxford, MS

 Showtime: 6 pm

Learn more about the show's lineup here

Can't make it? Reserve a signed copy here. Personalization available.

Featuring...

De'Shawn Charles Winslow for his new novel Decent People.

From Center for Fiction First Novel Prize winning author De'Shawn Charles Winslow, a sweeping and unforgettable novel of a Black community reeling from a triple homicide, and the secrets the killings reveal.

In the still-segregated town of West Mills, North Carolina in 1976, Marian, Marva, and Lazarus Harmon-three enigmatic siblings-are found shot to death in their home. The people of West Mills-on both sides of the canal that serves as the town's color line-are in a frenzy of finger-pointing, gossip, and wonder. The crime is the first reported murder in the area in decades, but the white authorities don't seem to care or have any interest in solving the case.

Fortunately, one person is determined to do more than talk. Ms. Jo Wright has just moved back to West Mills from New York City to retire and marry a childhood sweetheart, Olympus “Lymp” Seymore. When she discovers that the murder victims are Lymp's half-siblings, and that Lymp is one of West Mills' leading culprits, she sets out on a transformative manhunt to prove his innocence.

As Jo begins to investigate those who might know the most about the Harmons' deaths, she starts to discover darker secrets than she'd ever imagined, and a pattern of cover ups-of racial incidents, homophobia, and medical misuse-that could upend the reputations of many.

For readers of American Spy and BluebirdDecent People is a powerful new novel about shame, race, money, and the reckoning required to heal a fractured community.

About the Author

De'Shawn Charles Winslow is the author of In West Mills, a Center for Fiction First Novel Prize winner, an American Book Award recipient, and a Willie Morris Award for Southern Fiction winner, and a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book, Lambda Literary, and Publishing Triangle awards. He was born and raised in Elizabeth City, North Carolina, and graduated from the Iowa Writers' Workshop.

Air times:

Thursday, February 2nd – 6:00 pm (CT) WUMS – University of Mississippi

Friday, February 10th – 6 am (CT) WYXR 91.7 FM Memphis, TN.

Saturday, February 11th –3 pm (ET) University of Tennessee at Chattanooga

7 pm (CT) Mississippi Public Broadcasting

9 pm (CT) Alabama Public Radio

Praise For...

“De'Shawn Charles Winslow's powerful second novel Decent People is a gripping mystery but also something more. A thoughtful examination of small-town life becomes a story about America itself, looking directly at the legacies of racism and segregation, homophobia and secrecy, poverty and power.” —Rumaan Alam, author of Leave the World Behind

“One of De'Shawn Charles Winslow's greatest gifts is his world-building mastery. West Mills and the people who reside in it feel so real, recognizable, tangible, vibrant, and vivid. His rendering of this southern landscape is extraordinary. And this skill serves Decent People very well. It's been a very long time since I've read a good, old-fashioned whodunnit, and this is a most outstanding one, accomplishing several feats at once: it's a compelling mystery with brilliant misdirections and surprising revelations, all while having depth of purpose and critical, crucial social commentary. Decent People is quite the achievement.” —Robert Jones Jr., author of the National Book Award Finalist and New York Times bestseller, THE PROPHETS
 

Event address: 
413 S. 14th Street
Oxford, MS 38655
Books: 
Pre-Order Now Badge
Decent People By De'Shawn Charles Winslow Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781635575323
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - January 17th, 2023