You: The Story - An Evening with Ruta Sepetys

Thursday, 5/25: You: The Story - An Evening with Ruta Sepetys

The first 50 purchasers of YOU: The Story will receive a complimentary custom writing journal!

Masks Encouraged☺*

If you have questions or concerns about our safety protocols, please email rsvp@squarebooks.com

Can't make it? Reserve a signed first edition here. Personalization available.

*please note, as Covid case numbers change, these protocols may too. Thank you for your patience and understanding!

 

Peer through the lens of memory and discuss creative writing with #1 New York Times bestselling author, Ruta Sepetys.

Thursday, May 25th at 5:30 PM. Join us as Sepetys presents her new book on writing and also discusses the approach to her novels. The presentation will be followed by a Q & A and book signing.

About the Book

The nonfiction debut by #1 New York Times bestselling and Carnegie Medal-winning author Ruta Sepetys. 

Life is story in motion. Each day, you add to your story, revise it, and view it from a different angle. You erase things. Tear pages out. And sometimes, in hindsight, wish you could put them back. A day is a story. A year is a story. A life is a story. 
You are a story. 

Ruta Sepetys is known for creating vivid characters and harrowing plots. After five award-winning works of historical fiction and countless hours of meticulous research, she can affirm that the secret to strong writing is embedded within your life experience.

You: The Story is a powerful how-to book for aspiring writers that encourages you to look inward and excavate your own memories in order to discover the authentic voices and compelling details that are waiting to be put on the page. Masterfully weaving in humorous and heartfelt stories from her own life that illustrate an aspect of the craft of writing (such as plot, character development, or dialogue), Sepetys then inspires readers with a series of writing prompts and exercises.

Perfect for fans of Burn After Writing and Bird by BirdYou: The Story awakens the emerging writer and reveals that with some reflection, curiosity, and courage, you have a story to tell.

About the Author

Ruta Sepetys is the internationally acclaimed, #1 New York Times bestselling author of I Must Betray You and other historical fiction published in over sixty countries and forty languages. Her five novels have won or been shortlisted for more than forty book prizes, and are included on more than sixty state award lists. Between Shades of Gray was adapted into the film Ashes in the Snow, and her other novels are currently in development for TV and film. Winner of the Carnegie Medal, Sepetys is passionate about the power of history and literature to foster global awareness and connectivity. She has presented to NATO, the European Parliament, in the United States Capitol, and at embassies worldwide. Ruta was born and raised in Michigan and now lives with her family in Nashville, Tennessee. Follow her on Twitter @RutaSepetys and Instagram @RutaSepetysAuthor.

Praise For...

"Instructive and inspiring for storytellers of all ages." Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"This is an inspirational book that gives readers direction as they begin writing and will make them want to keep writing, and rewriting, their own stories." —SLC

"Sepetys discusses the principles that underlie good fiction and recounts details from her own life to illustrate how personal anecdotes can fuel literary creativity. . . . Novice writers will appreciate a bounty of writing prompts." —Publishers Weekly

Books: 
You: The Story: A Writer's Guide to Craft Through Memory By Ruta Sepetys Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780593524381
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books - May 16th, 2023

The nonfiction debut by #1 New York Times bestselling and Carnegie Medal-winning author Ruta Sepetys. Perfect for fans of Burn After Writing and Bird by Bird.


Event date: 
Thursday, May 25, 2023 - 5:30pm
129 Courthouse Square
Oxford, MS 38655
See More Events: