Sami's 2018 Picks

Staff Pick Badge
How to Code a Sandcastle Cover Image
By Josh Funk, Sara Palacios (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780425291986
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - May 15th, 2018

Equally entertaining and informative, How to Code a Sandcastle is the perfect introduction to coding for little computer geniuses-or really any 5 year old who's ever wondered how computers work.


Staff Pick Badge
Smack Dab in the Middle of Maybe Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780399557385
Availability: Usually Arrives in Store in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - July 10th, 2018

Fans of Three Times Lucky and Chasing Vermeer will eat up this Southern mystery about art, family, and finding your way home. Mississippians will recognize references to Walter Anderson, but anyone will be charmed by Cricket's tenacity, strength of character, and brilliant imagination.


Staff Pick Badge
My Plain Jane Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062652775
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperTeen - June 26th, 2018

Rife with brooding romance, mysterious intrigue, and plenty of biting commentary from our intrepid authors, My Plain Jane is irrepressably funny and incredibly clever.


Staff Pick Badge
Legendary: A Caraval Novel Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250095312
Availability: Usually Arrives in Store in 1-5 Days
Published: Flatiron Books - May 29th, 2018

Within the world of Caraval, sisters Scarlett and Tella found freedom from their abusive father, but in this luminous and dazzling sequel, Tella learns there is a steep price to pay. As they join the next game, Tella is entangled in a dark and enticing mystery that involves the magic of Legend himself versus the mysterious Fates that created their realm. 


Staff Pick Badge
Save the Date Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481404570
Availability: Usually Arrives in Store in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - June 5th, 2018

Over the course of one increasingly turbulent wedding weekend, high school senior Charlie Grant battles family dysfunction and awkward crush interactions as she attempts to avert multiple wedding disasters. 


Staff Pick Badge
Furyborn (Empirium Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781492656623
Availability: Usually Arrives in Store in 1-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks Fire - May 22nd, 2018

Furyborn is an epic fantasy of otherworldly beings, antiheroes, and intricate world-building. As Rielle strives to control her elemental magic to fulfill a prophecy and win the prince she secretly loves, we also follow Elianna, an assassin known as Dread, as she struggles to protect her family and maintain her morality amidst the growing darkness in her soul. Rielle and Elianna are separated by thousands of years, but both are forces to be reckoned with as they shape the futures of the kingdoms they hold dear.


Staff Pick Badge
Prince Charming (Royals #1) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781524738259
Availability: Usually Arrives in Store in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - March 5th, 2019

When Daisy Winters' perfect sister becomes engaged to the Crown Prince of Scotland, she spends an unforgettable summer learning the ropes of royalty and romance.


Staff Pick Badge
Thunderhead (Arc of a Scythe #2) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781442472457
Availability: Usually Arrives in Store in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - January 9th, 2018

The sequel to Scythe, Thunderhead is a brilliant exploration of the hubris of humanity and machine alike that does not fail to excite, alarm, and impress.


Staff Pick Badge
Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha #1) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250170972
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - March 6th, 2018

Adeyemi has written a fresh and alluring world of magic and madness that has appealing mystery and intrigue for everyone.


Staff Pick Badge
Truly Devious: A Mystery Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062338068
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - December 4th, 2018

Accepted at the elite and eccentric Ellingham Academy, Stevie Bell has two goals: prove to her parents she belongs there and solve the eighty-one-year-old case of the disappearance of the Ellingham family. As Stevie delves deeper into the case, however, another mystery arises that cannot be a coincidence.


Staff Pick Badge
The Hazel Wood: A Novel Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250147936
Availability: Usually Arrives in Store in 1-5 Days
Published: Flatiron Books - March 26th, 2019

Beguiling and unsettling, The Hazel Wood is the kind of book you'll read in one sitting, holding your breath all the while. The Hazel Wood shifts between gritty urban fantasy to spine-tingling horror seamlessly, with gorgeous prose and fantastic narration.


Staff Pick Badge
Escape from Aleppo Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781481472173
Availability: Usually Arrives in Store in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books - January 2nd, 2018

An exceptional and heart-wrenching story, with beautiful prose, vivid imagery, and one incredibly resilient young girl.


Staff Pick Badge
Ghost Boys Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316262286
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 17th, 2018

After 12 year old Jerome is shot by a police officer, he lingers in the world to watch over his family and friends. When Jerome encounters the daughter of the police officer who shot him, the only person who can see him, they both learn an extraordinary lesson in compassion and empathy.


Staff Pick Badge
Aru Shah and the End of Time (A Pandava Novel, Book 1) (Pandava Series #1) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781368012355
Availability: Usually Arrives in Store in 1-5 Days
Published: Rick Riordan Presents - March 27th, 2018

Aru Shah, a 12 year old with a tendency to exaggerate, tends to get herself into a lot of scrapes, but when she awakens an ancient evil intent on ending the world, she's gonna need a lot more than fast-talking to become a heroine. With the help of a talking pigeon (don't ask) and some gifts from the gods, Aru starts an epic adventure in this series inspired by Rick Riordan and Hindu mythology.


Staff Pick Badge
A Sky Full of Stars Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780544800656
Availability: Usually Arrives in Store in 1-5 Days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - January 2nd, 2018

Determined to make a difference in Mississippi, Rosa is torn when political strife plagues her state. What can one person do against a sea of injustice? Linda Williams Jackson once again brilliantly delivers a story of hope against all odds.


Staff Pick Badge
Ordinary, Extraordinary Jane Austen: The Story of Six Novels, Three Notebooks, a Writing Box, and One Clever Girl Cover Image
By Deborah Hopkinson, Qin Leng (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062373304
Availability: Usually Arrives in Store in 1-5 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 23rd, 2018

This whimsically illustrated wonder is the perfect introduction to Jane Austen. Focusing on her intelligence, her family, and her love of storytelling, fans will love introducing their little ones to the great authoress.