Square Books, Jr. Events

YA Virtual Event: Kendare Blake in conversation with Marissa Meyer for ALL THESE BODIES

Tuesday, September 21, 2021 - 5:30pm

Pub Day Event · Square Books is thrilled to partner with the Lafayette County & Oxford Public Library to celebrate the publication of Kendare Blake's All These Bodies. Join us on Zoom for a conversation between YA authors, Kendare Blake and Marissa Meyer

This is event is free to attend but registration is required. Click here to RSVP.

Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. In this edge-of-your-seat mystery the truth is as hard to believe as it is to find.

Summer 1958. A gruesome killer plagues the Midwest, leaving behind a trail of bodies completely drained of blood. 

Michael Jensen, an aspiring journalist whose father happens to be the town sheriff, never imagined that the Bloodless Murders would come to his backyard. Not until the night the Carlson family was found murdered in their home. Marie Catherine Hale, a diminutive fifteen-year-old, was discovered at the scene—covered in blood. She is the sole suspect in custody.

Michael didn’t think that he would be part of the investigation, but he is pulled in when Marie decides that he is the only one she will confess to. As Marie recounts her version of the story, it falls to Michael to find the truth: What really happened the night that the Carlsons were killed? And how did one girl wind up in the middle of all these bodies?


About the Author

Kendare Blake is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Three Dark Crowns series. She holds an MA in creative writing from Middlesex University in northern London. She is also the author of Anna Dressed in Blood, a Cybils Awards finalist; Girl of NightmaresAntigoddessMortal Gods; and Ungodly. Her books have been translated into over twenty languages, have been featured on multiple best-of-year lists, and have received many regional and librarian awards. Kendare lives and writes in Gig Harbor, Washington. Visit her online at www.kendareblake.com.

About the Host

Marissa Meyer is the #1 New York Times–bestselling author of The Lunar Chronicles series, the New York Times-bestselling Renegades trilogy, as well as the graphic novel Wires and Nerve: Vol. 1 and 2, and The Lunar Chronicles Coloring Book. Her first stand alone novel, Heartless, was also a #1 New York Times bestseller. She lives in Tacoma, Washington, with her husband and their two daughters.

 

Praise for...

"Fantastically disturbing and expertly eerie."
— Stephanie Garber, #1 bestselling author of the Caraval series

“A chilling psychological thriller that effectively pulls from true crimes, folklore, and urban legends.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“An insightful look at our morbid curiosity about murderers.”
— Kirkus Reviews

"Through an assured voice and a vividly wrought small-town atmosphere, Blake swiftly draws readers into this tense historical thriller inspired by a real-life murder spree."
— Publishers Weekly

“Reads like true crime. A chilling descent into the human psyche.”
— Booklist

“Timid, polite Michael and bold, headstrong Marie carry the story forward on their own.”
— School Library Journal

Event address: 

Zoom Webinar
All These Bodies Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062977168
Availability: Usually Arrives in Store in 1-5 Days
Published: Quill Tree Books - September 21st, 2021

BONUS STORYTIME TAKEOVER: John Patrick Green & Dave Roman for InvestiGators: Ants in Our P.A.N.T.S.

Tuesday, September 28, 2021 - 12:30pm

Square Books Jr. is pleased to welcome John Patrick Green in conversation with Dave Roman for a special BONUS storytime takeover and drawing demo celebrating the release of InvestiGators: Ants in Our P.A.N.T.S., the latest chapter in the hilarious sewer-loving secret agent adventure series.

Tune in Tuesday, September 28th at 12:30 pm CT on Facebook Live

Will InvestiGators Mango and RoboBrash be able to solve this latest mystery in the hilarious adventure series perfect for fans of Dog Man?!

With agent Brash trapped in a mysterious coma, the technicians at S.U.I.T. have designed the ultimate replacement: RoboBrash! This high-tech replica has been programmed with all of the original Brash’s crime-fighting skills and knowhow—but it seems he’s got a few bugs in his system! Will Mango and his new partner be enough to stop the giant ants that are on a rampage in the city? Orchestrated by the spaced-out villain, Maestronaut, and Houdino, the dinosaur escape artist, it seems criminals are certainly upping the ANT-y!


About the Author

John Patrick Green is a human with the human job of making books about animals with human jobs, such as HippopotamisterKitten Construction Company, and the New York Times bestselling InvestiGators. John is definitely not just a bunch of animals wearing a human suit pretending to have a human job. He is also the artist and co-creator of the graphic novel series Teen Boat!, with writer Dave Roman. John lives in Brooklyn in an apartment that doesn't allow animals other than the ones living in his head.

About the Host

Dave Roman is the author/illustrator of the Astronaut Academy series (winner of Maryland’s Black-Eyed Susan Book Award) and writer of the graphic novels Teen Boat! Race for Boatlantis (with John Patrick Green) and Agnes Quill: An Anthology of Mystery. He has contributed stories and art to Goosebumps Graphix: Slappy’s Tales of Horror, Nursery Rhyme Comics and the Flight series. Roman teaches at the School of Visual Arts, is a former editor at Nickelodeon Magazine, and is currently the editor for First Second’s Science Comics and History Comics ongoing series of nonfiction graphic novels. He lives in NYC and draws a webcomic called Starbunny, Inc. You can find him online at yaytime.com and @yatime

 

Event address: 

Square Books Jr. Facebook Live
Pre-Order Now Badge
InvestiGators: Ants in Our P.A.N.T.S. Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781250220059
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: First Second - September 28th, 2021